09 June 2006

The 2006 Alex Awards

Here are some awards that I hadn't heard of before: the Alex Awards. The awards are given to books that are written for adults but that will appeal to teens as well. The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) administers these awards; the sponsors are the Margaret Alexander Edwards Trust and Booklist. According to the YALSA website, "The Alex Awards were created to recognize that many teens enjoy and often prefer books written for adults, and to assist librarians in recommending adult books that appeal to teens." This year's winners include Neil Gaiman's Anansi Boys, Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, and Susan Palwick's The Necessary Beggar. Via Rebecca's Pocket.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home